The system
How the system worksThe DirectoryDispatchThe LedgerAI modelsAI agentsYour installationThe appThe research libraryWhat changes for your businessUse it from your softwareEverything it can do
Messaging
iMessageWhatsApp
Ads and leads
AdsCreativeLeads
Devices
Devices
Industries
RealtorsRestaurantsHome services
Explore
How it worksPermissions and limitsCompareSet upQuestionsText me

SSI and California SSP (monthly cash for people 65 or older, blind or disabled with very low income): who qualifies, what you get, how to apply, and what happens next

Supplemental Security Income (SSI) pays monthly cash to people who are 65 or older, blind or disabled and have very little income and resources; in California the state adds the State Supplementary Payment (SSP) and Medi-Cal comes with it. The combined maximum for January 2026 is $1,234 a month for an aged or disabled individual. Apply to the Social Security Administration online, by phone or at an office.

What SSI and California SSP is, in one paragraph

Supplemental Security Income (SSI) is a federal program, run by the Social Security Administration, that pays monthly cash to adults and children who are 65 or older, blind, or disabled and who have little or no income and resources. It does not depend on work history. California adds its own State Supplementary Payment (SSP) to the federal amount; SSA decides and pays both, and anyone who qualifies for SSI qualifies for SSP. In California an SSI/SSP recipient also gets Medi-Cal automatically. People barred only by immigration status may qualify for the state's CAPI instead.

$1,234 a month
combined SSI/SSP maximum in California, individual, aged or disabled, January 2026 (CDSS, rule:ca_max_grant_2026)

Who may qualify

Three tests (rule:who): age or disability: 65 or older, blind, or a disability expected to last a year or more or end in death (rule:disability); resources (rule:resource_limit); and income, counted after SSA's exclusions (rule:earned_income_reduction).

FigureAmountRule
Federal SSI maximum, individual, 2026$994 a monthrule:federal_amount_2026
Federal SSI maximum, couple, 2026$1,491 a monthrule:federal_amount_2026
SSI/SSP maximum in California, individual, January 2026$1,234 a monthrule:ca_max_grant_2026
SSI/SSP maximum in California, couple, January 2026$2,099 a monthrule:ca_max_grant_2026
Resource limit$2,000 individual, $3,000 couplerule:resource_limit
Work earnings guideabout $2,073 a monthrule:income_guide
Earnings in the month of applying, with a disabilityunder $1,690rule:sga_when_applying
Reduction for not paying your share of food and housingup to $351.33rule:living_arrangement

The home, one vehicle used for transportation and household goods do not count (rule:resource_exclusions). A lawful permanent resident qualifies only in listed cases (rule:noncitizens); otherwise CAPI may apply (rule:capi).

How to apply, and what happens after

Apply to the Social Security Administration online, by phone at 1-800-772-1213 (TTY 1-800-325-0778), or at a local Social Security office (rule:apply_where). One application covers SSI and the California SSP (rule:ca_ssp), and Medi-Cal follows (rule:medi_cal).

SSA checks income and resources. For a disability claim, the state Disability Determination Services reviews medical records and may send you to an exam; this can take many months, and if approved you are paid for the months you were disabled during the process.

Once paid, report your wages, other income, and changes in resources or living arrangements each month (rule:report_monthly). To disagree with a decision, request reconsideration within 60 days (rule:reconsideration_60_days), then a hearing within 60 days of that decision (rule:hearing_60_days).

The procedure, stage by stage, as data
JSONThe procedure, stage by stage, as data
13 items
10 keys
"id""stage:discover"
"order"1
"name""Discover"
"what_happens""A person 65 or older, blind, or disabled (adult or child) with very little income and resources learns SSI pays monthly and, in California, includes the state SSP and Medi-Cal"
"who_acts""Person / family / advocate"
"timeline""Apply as soon as possible; payments start from the application"
"evidence""None"
"failure_mode""Assuming owning a home or car disqualifies (rule:resource_exclusions)"
"model_role""Screen income and resources first"
"automation_class""A"
10 keys
"id""stage:screen_eligibility"
"order"2
"name""Screen eligibility"
"what_happens""Check age or disability, countable resources against $2,000 / $3,000, income, living arrangement, and immigration status"
"who_acts""Model + person"
"timeline""Minutes"
"evidence""Bank statements, income, household"
"failure_mode""Counting excluded resources"
"model_role""Count only countable resources; flag CAPI for immigration-only ineligibility"
"automation_class""A"
10 keys
"id""stage:gather_documents"
"order"3
"name""Gather documents"
"what_happens""Proof of age, citizenship or immigration status, income, resources, living arrangement; medical sources for disability"
"who_acts""Person"
"timeline""Before or during the application"
"evidence""Birth certificate, bank statements, lease, medical records"
"failure_mode""No medical source; SSA may send the person to an exam"
"model_role""Produce the checklist"
"automation_class""A"
10 keys
"id""stage:complete_application"
"order"4
"name""Complete application"
"what_happens""SSI application with SSA, online, by phone or at an office"
"who_acts""Person or representative"
"timeline""One session or appointment"
"evidence""Gathered facts"
"failure_mode""Incomplete medical history"
"model_role""Pre-fill a worksheet"
"automation_class""A"
10 keys
"id""stage:submit"
"order"5
"name""Submit"
"what_happens""Online, by phone at 1-800-772-1213, or at a local Social Security office"
"who_acts""Person"
"timeline""Phone weekdays 8 a.m. to 7 p.m."
"evidence""Confirmation"
"failure_mode""Not applying while waiting for documents"
"model_role""Tell the channel; never submits"
"automation_class""B"
10 keys
"id""stage:interview_verification"
"order"6
"name""Interview / verification"
"what_happens""SSA verifies income and resources; for disability, the state Disability Determination Services reviews medical evidence and may order an exam"
"who_acts""SSA + DDS"
"timeline""The disability decision can take many months"
"evidence""Medical evidence; financial records"
"failure_mode""Missing a consultative exam"
"model_role""Prepare the medical timeline"
"automation_class""C - medical adjudication is human"
10 keys
"id""stage:decision"
"order"7
"name""Decision"
"what_happens""SSA mails a decision; if eligible, SSP is added and Medi-Cal follows"
"who_acts""SSA"
"timeline""UNKNOWN (not stated on pages fetched)"
"evidence""Decision notice"
"failure_mode""Not checking the countable income used"
"model_role""Read the notice"
"automation_class""A"
10 keys
"id""stage:issuance_use"
"order"8
"name""Issuance / use"
"what_happens""Monthly payment of SSI plus SSP, reduced by countable income"
"who_acts""SSA"
"timeline""Monthly; 2026 federal maximum $994 (rule:federal_amount_2026)"
"evidence""Direct deposit"
"failure_mode""Living arrangement reduction not expected"
"model_role""Compute the payment"
"automation_class""D"
10 keys
"id""stage:report_changes"
"order"9
"name""Report changes"
"what_happens""Report wages, income, resources, marital status, and living arrangements, including entering or leaving a facility or incarceration"
"who_acts""Recipient"
"timeline""Each month (rule:report_monthly)"
"evidence""Pay stubs, statements"
"failure_mode""Unreported changes create overpayments"
"model_role""Remind monthly"
"automation_class""B"
10 keys
"id""stage:renew_recertify"
"order"10
"name""Renew / recertify"
"what_happens""SSA periodically re-verifies eligibility and may review the disability"
"who_acts""SSA"
"timeline""Periodic; dates not stated on pages fetched"
"evidence""Updated records"
"failure_mode""Not responding to a review"
"model_role""Prepare the review forms"
"automation_class""B"
10 keys
"id""stage:denial_response"
"order"11
"name""Denial response"
"what_happens""Read the notice; request reconsideration online, on SSA-561, or by phone"
"who_acts""Person"
"timeline""60 days (rule:reconsideration_60_days)"
"evidence""Notice; new evidence"
"failure_mode""Missing 60 days"
"model_role""Identify the reason"
"automation_class""A"
10 keys
"id""stage:appeal_fair_hearing"
"order"12
"name""Appeal / fair hearing"
"what_happens""Reconsideration, then a hearing before an administrative law judge, Appeals Council review, federal district court"
"who_acts""Person + SSA"
"timeline""60 days at each of the first two levels (rule:hearing_60_days)"
"evidence""Evidence"
"failure_mode""Skipping representation"
"model_role""Explain the levels; never files"
"automation_class""B"
10 keys
"id""stage:overpayment_exit"
"order"13
"name""Overpayment / exit"
"what_happens""Payments stop or drop when income, resources or living arrangements change; overpayments are recovered"
"who_acts""SSA"
"timeline""On the change"
"evidence""None"
"failure_mode""Resource limit exceeded by savings"
"model_role""Explain"
"automation_class""B"

The same facts open other programs

The facts SSI asks for, age, disability, income and resources, are the first facts of the programs below:

References (9)
What this article shares with the graph
JSONWhat this article shares with the graph
6 keys
"program_id""B023"
"graph""california-benefits-graph"
"related_program_ids" 9 items
"B024"
"B011"
"B025"
"B001"
"B015"
"B013"
"B014"
"B029"
"B022"
"related_programs" 9 keys
"B024""CAPI (Cash Assistance Program for Immigrants)"
"B011""Medi-Cal (Medicaid)"
"B025""SSDI (Social Security Disability Insurance)"
"B001""CalFresh (SNAP)"
"B015""In-Home Supportive Services (IHSS)"
"B013""Medicare Savings Programs (QMB / SLMB / QI / QDWI)"
"B014""Medicare Part D Extra Help (Low-Income Subsidy)"
"B029""VA pension + Aid & Attendance"
"B022""General Assistance / General Relief (GA/GR)"
"triggered_by_events" 2 items
"event:disability_becomes_long_term_permanent"
"event:turning_65"
"shares_facts_with" 2 keys
"household.assets.liquid" 1 item
"B024"
"person.identity.date_of_birth" 4 items
"B001"
"B011"
"B013"
"B063"

Official addresses

Related pages
Beside
CAPI (California cash aid for aged, blind and disabled immigrants denied SSI): who qualifies, what you get, how to apply, and what happens nextMedi-Cal (California Medicaid health coverage): who qualifies, what you get, how to apply, and what happens nextSocial Security Disability Insurance (SSDI, monthly federal payments for workers who cannot work because of a disability): who qualifies, what you get, how to apply, and what happens nextCalFresh (California food benefits): who qualifies, what you get, how to apply, and what happens nextIn-Home Supportive Services (IHSS) (paid in-home care for aged, blind and disabled Californians on Medi-Cal): who qualifies, what you get, how to apply, and what happens nextMedicare Savings Programs (the state pays Medicare premiums: QMB, SLMB, QI, QDWI): who qualifies, what you get, how to apply, and what happens nextMedicare Part D Extra Help (Low-Income Subsidy for drug costs): who qualifies, what you get, how to apply, and what happens nextVA Veterans Pension and Aid and Attendance (monthly payment for low-income wartime veterans): who qualifies, what you get, how to apply, and what happens nextGeneral Relief / General Assistance (county cash aid for adults with no income): who qualifies, what you get, how to apply, and what happens next
References (21)
  1. SSI Federal Payment Amounts for 2026 — Social Security Administration (SSA)“The monthly maximum Federal amounts for 2026 are $994 for an eligible individual, $1,491 for an eligible individual with an eligible spouse, and $498 for an essential person.”
  2. SSI Federal Payment Amounts: COLA — Social Security Administration (SSA)“Maximum Federal Supplemental Security Income (SSI) payment amounts increase with the cost-of-living increases that apply to Social Security benefits.”
  3. Supplemental Security Income (SSI) — Social Security Administration (SSA)“SSI provides monthly payments to people with disabilities and older adults who have little or no income or resources.”
  4. SSI: report changes — Social Security Administration (SSA)“Each month, you must report your wages, other income, and changes to your resources or living arrangements.”
  5. Who can get SSI: income — Social Security Administration (SSA)“earn more than $2,073 from work each month.”
  6. Who can get SSI: resources — Social Security Administration (SSA)“If you’re a parent applying for a child, these numbers increase by $2,000.”
  7. Who can get SSI: disability — Social Security Administration (SSA)“Affects your ability to work for a year or more, or”
  8. Who can get SSI: earnings when applying — Social Security Administration (SSA)“earned less than $1,690 from work per month”
  9. Understanding SSI Resources, 2026 Edition — Social Security Administration (SSA)“The limit for countable resources is $2,000 for an individual and $3,000 for a couple.”
  10. Understanding SSI Resources: excluded resources — Social Security Administration (SSA)“One vehicle, regardless of value, if you or a member of your household use it for transportation.”
  11. Understanding SSI Resources: transfers — Social Security Administration (SSA)“you may be ineligible for SSI benefits for up to 36 months.”
  12. How much you could get from SSI — Social Security Administration (SSA)“For every $2 you earn from work, we reduce your SSI payment by about $1.”
  13. How much you could get from SSI: living arrangement — Social Security Administration (SSA)“your SSI payment may be lowered by up to $351.33.”
  14. Request reconsideration — Social Security Administration (SSA)“submit a request for a disability or non-medical reconsideration within 60 days.”
  15. Request hearing with a judge — Social Security Administration (SSA)“submit a request for a disability or non-medical hearing within 60 days.”
  16. SSI/SSP Programs — California Department of Social Services (CDSS)“If an eligible individual qualifies for SSI, they qualify for SSP.”
  17. SSI/SSP Programs: how to apply — California Department of Social Services (CDSS)“To apply for SSI/SSP, please visit your local Social Security office”
  18. SSI/SSP Programs: CAPI — California Department of Social Services (CDSS)“may be eligible for Cash Assistance Program for Immigrants (CAPI).”
  19. SSI/SSP Eligibility Summary: Medi-Cal — California Department of Social Services (CDSS)“If you are eligible for SSI/SSP, you automatically receive benefits under the Medi-Cal program.”
  20. SSI/SSP Eligibility Summary: non-citizens — California Department of Social Services (CDSS)“has worked and earned 40 quarters of credit (10 years) under Social Security;”
  21. SSI/SSP Maximum Grant Comparison, 2026 May Revision — California Department of Social Services (CDSS)“The maximum grant is based on the Aged/Disabled Individual Payment Standard”